top of page

Interview with Martina McAtee

Hey!

Thanks for visting my blog!

Thanks to social media especially Instagram, I was able to reach an author and ask about herself as a writer and her curent book. Martina McAtee is the author of the book Children Shouldn't Play With Dead Things which I will be reviewing pretty soon.

I was able to chat with her through Instagram and I wanted to know more about her and I decided to send her some inteview questions to gain some insight into her writing and the inspiration behind the book. Martina is registered nurse but on her time off from work, she's able to write novels and her sequel will be released in 2016 according to her website.

As a writer myself, I wanted to know what inspires McAtee's writing, she replied, "I come from a huge family of readers. I don't remember a time when my mom or my sister didn't read to me. I grew up on books by R.L. Stine and James Howe. Writing just seemed like a natural progression of that. I wrote my first story when I was four. I'm pretty sure it was in crayon. I used to spend my summers writing plays in spiral notebooks at my grandmother's house in Boston."

I was also curious about the advice she'd give to potential and future writers such as myself and she said," Write every day. Write even when you think every single word is total crap. Don't think, just write. Don't stop writing until you have a beginning, a middle and an end. Nobody will ever see your rough draft. When it's done, edit, edit, edit and edit again. Take tons of workshops, hone your craft, accept that even the best writers can learn something to improve their writing."

Before reading her book, I wanted to understand more about it since not many authors write books with a supernatural theme and I wanted to know how she was inspired to write it, McAtee said, "The book was inspired by a dream I had six or so years ago. It wasn't much of a dream as things go, just a snippet of a dream, really but it eventually morphed into 500 plus pages. As far as my writing in general, it's highly influenced by books by J.K. Rowling, Christopher Pike and L.J. Smith as well as shows like Teen Wolf, The 100, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the Vampire Diaries."

Martina's opportunity to publish her work was very important to her since she "wanted people to read and like my story and maybe get something from it. On the other hand, I have a horribly fragile ego and enough anxiety to fuel a small country, so letting people read and judge my work was more terrifying to me than any demon or monster I could imagine. But in the end, I'm a writer and what good is being a writer and telling a story if nobody ever gets to read it." I truly hope many others find out about her and they have the opportunity to read it and also spread the word to others. Martina deserves the success that she already has and I know she'll gain more as time progresses.

Thank you for reading!

Instagram - @authormartinamcatee

Twitter - @MartinaMcAtee1

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page