top of page

Review: "Ugly Love" by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love

Sypnosis (Goodreads):

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her. Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future. They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all. Hearts get infiltrated. Promises get broken. Rules get shattered. Love gets ugly.

(Nick Bateman as Miles Archer on set)

The story wasn't at all what I thought it'd be. When I read the title, I began to think of two individuals that shared a shattering and unbearable past but it turns out I was only half right.

The story made me experience a rollercoaster of emotions as I cried, I was frustrated, I was happy and smiling too. The book was so well written that it had suspense with the romance. As the chapters begin to switch between Tate's point of view to Miles', the reader doesn't gain much of an overview about him. We get to understand and familiarize ourselves with Tate while we barely get to know Miles.

It isn't until the second half of the book that we get to understand how Miles is and why he's been acting this way with Tate.

I love Cap's character and the way he treats Tate after meeting her. "Sometimes a man's spirit just ain't strong enough to withstand the ghosts from his past.. Maybe that boy just lost his spirit somewhere along the way," (227). His wisdom and advice to Tate is something you can't ignore.

"The difference between the ugly side of love and the beautiful side of love is that the beautiful side is much lighter. It makes you feel like you're floating. It lifts you up. Carries you. The beautiful parts of love hold you above the rest of the world. They hold you so high above all the bad stuf, and you just look down everything else and think, Wow I'm so glad I'm up here," (281). This quote is what made me love Miles' character and the way he loves. Adding a chapter from Rachel's point of view was an amazing ideas as I understood Miles even more.

"I think back to the day I married her. It was one of the best days of my life. I remember standing next to Ian and Corbin at the end of the aisle. We were waiting for her to walk through the door when Corbin leaned over and whispered something to me. He said, 'You're the only one who could have ever met my standards for her, Miles. I'm happy, it's you.' I was happy it was me, too. That was more than two years ago, and every day since then, I've somehow fallen in love with her a little bit more. Or flew, rather," (319). Through the story, we see how Corbin is so protective over his younger sibling and how he standards for the man that will be with her. His reaction onece the truth was revealed was exactly how I expected it to be but I'm glad he was satisfied with Miles being with his younger sister.

The ending was beautiful as well, Miles is very romantic. I loved how he treated Tate at the end and how he decided to finally open his heart and admit his love towards her.

Overall, I read this book because I saw YouTuber's video that she reviewed it and saw her reaction video about the teaser trailer. (Yes, it will have a film adaptation!) Nick Bateman is perfect as Miles so far and I can't to see who they cast as Tate. Both videos made me order this book which I read in about five days since I couldn't put it down but I had to because I had schoolwork. After I read it, I reazlied it was the right decision. I hope you enjoyed reading this review, I am placing the teaser trailer below so you just as I did can enjoy a tease of Nick Bateman as Miles Archer.

Thanks for reading!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page