top of page

Review: "Secrets in Phoenix" by Gabriella Lepore (OfTomes Publishing)


Hey!

Thank you for visiting my blog once again!

Sypnosis (Amazon.com):

When Sophie Ballester and her twin brothers Sam and Todd are uprooted from their home and sent to a remote boarding school run by their Great Aunt Ness, they stumble upon a hidden room that holds a secret, a secret that will change everything. The people of Phoenix Holt are not what they seem. In fact nothing is.

Review:

I had the opportunity to review this book from OfTomes Publishing and it took an unexpected turn for me. At first, it failed to grasp my attention as a reader but I decided to keep reading because I knew there would be something great about this story.

The story is Supernatural meets the Hunger Games meets Harry Potter. Sophie doesn't know about her abilities but she's willing to sacrifice herself for those she loves the most. The climax of the film was my motivation to keep reading when Sophie is forced to make a difficult choice in her life and it will affect those around her if it doesn't happen correctly. The twist towards the end I was expecting it before and not when it occurred, it totally caught me by surprise but it made Sophie a lot stronger. I really liked the ending a lot as Sophie truly learns about herself and her abilities too.

I'm rating this book a 4/5 stars because it failed to connect with me as a reader at first but it got better afterwards.

Thank you for reading!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page