top of page

Review: "New World Rising" by Jennifer Wilson - OfTomes Publishing


Hello!

I apologize for being absent for a while, I've had a lot of schoolwork and I graduate this year so I haven't been reading as much as I'd like to.

Sypnosis (Goodreads.com):

Since witnessing her parents' murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix's only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother's dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, "Join or die." Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

Review:

"For them I would find the strength, I would rise about my own fears. I would survive this new world, and I would find a way back to them." - Phoenix

I loved how captivating this story was from the start, as I read it, I wanted more. Phoenix reminds me a lot of Katniss from the Hunger Games because of her personality, attitude and the wall she places ever since the experience she had of witnessing her parents' murders. However, through the situation she finds herself and her true identity and realize she can be a trusting, caring and nurturing individual when she surrounds herself with certain people that won her heart.

The story is The Walking Dead meets the Hunger Games since it's setting takes place with a group of individuals in the Tartarus with a leader and a comittee of people within that group that meet in order to make certain decisions such as the one to allow Phoenix to join them. Reading about their meetings reminds me a lot of The Walking Dead, the leadership there and the individuals that consult to make decisions that will affect the rest of the group.

Overall, I give the story five stars because it had everything I like, action and a bit of romance as well but just enough of every aspect that makes you want to desire more. I cannot wait until the sequel, I definitely loved the cliffhanger ending that made my jaw drop, I was speechless.

Thank you for reading!


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page