top of page

Review: "Love, Rosie" by Cecelia Ahern


I loved this book so much, it did bother me that Rosie and Alex kept missing opportunities to be with each other. I felt as if the ending could have been better though after the built up that these characters have had, since they have known each other since they were very young, I expected their moment to be more beautiful and romantic.

"You deserve someone who loves you with every single beat of his heart, someone who thinks about you constantly, someone who spends every minute of every day just wondering what you're doing, where you are, who you're with, and if you're ok. You need someone who can help you reach your dreams and who can protect you from your fears. You need someone who will treat you with respect, love every part of you, especially your flaws. You should be with someone who can make you happy, really happy, dancing on air happy. Someone who should have taken the chance to be with you years ago instead of becoming scared and being too afraid to try."

Through their exchanges and constant communication, we are able to experience the reality that these characters have been through. However, I do feel that this letter from Alex is the most real and honest one he's ever sent Rosie (aside from the one including his love towards her), which made me realize how many of us experience so much in this life and at times, we aren't honest with ourselves, we don't face reality the way we should be.

So many things can occur during our life and deny ourselves of happiness and even certain opportunities because we have fear whether it is of failure or rejection. This story and these characters made me reflect on life even though I know this story isn't one to take that seriously. I kept thinking how Alex could have been so happy, many years ago with Rosie only if he hadn't had any second thoughts. I really enjoyed reading this and seeing the transition these characters made as they experienced life.

I did enjoy the film but it could have been much better by highlighting those experiences they had that couldn't be excluded.

Thank you for reading!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page