top of page

Review: "New World Rising: Ashes" by Jennifer Wilson

Hi!

It hasn't been easy dealing with schoolwork when I want to read so much. I hope that I am able to do it soon.

I had previously reviewed the first book in this series and I loved it a lot. Jennifer Wilson, the author of this series, and she recruited a few people to review her book before it's release. I was blessed enough to gain this opportunity of receiving this eARC of the sequel and I am so grateful because I wanted to know about the continuation of this story especially after the ending.

The sequel to New World Rising and it begins exactly where the story left off. The ending broke me as I thought about our favorites Triven, Prea and Mouse. The descriptions of Prea's torture and the atmosphere are vivid. The twist at the beginning of the story definitely wasn't something I expected but I am glad it happened because we learn and gain insight about Prea and her family. Her grandfather reminded me of President Snow from the Hunger Games as he's thinking about himself. It also made reflect - how did he know about her? Does she remember him? Did he kill her mother? Was he involved? Did Prea blocking him from her memories? Was he involved in her survival? Was she trained by him when she was younger? Did he let her go when she was younger? I also thought about her connection to her father as she talks about her childhood, why didn't her mother communicate with her as much as her father did?

As I thought about Prea - I thought about her transformation because at first, it was about her survival, she worked alone. Now, during her torture, she starts to think about Mouse, Triven and the children being trained as soldiers. As a result, Triven and Mouse were now her weakness, something she didn't have before meeting them.

My favorite quote from the story says, "Hope. Hope gave you strength when all else was lost. Hope gave you a glimpse of a future even when there might not be one to be had. It was reckless and dangerous emotion and for the first time in my life I let it into my heart."

As the story progresses, we get to witness Prea’s transformation as she thinks about Triven, Mouse and the children she’s witnessed during training before herself. She also began to puzzle pieces about her past and Triven’s as well. It’s amazing to see how a character can change based on the people she's surrounding herself with.

Her rescue mission seemed also like a dream sequence, I didn’t think it was real at the beginning. I never suspected that they had anyone as an insider to help Prea escape, that caught me by surprise. I really liked that this book started exactly where the first one left off and it had a climax from the beginning as you learn about Prea’s torture, her grandfather, Triven, Mouse and those rebels helping them. I definitely recommend this book to anyone that is a fan of the Hunger Games because Prea resembles Katniss as the lead female heroine as she fights for those that are important to her. I really love the characters especially Triven, Prea/Phoenix and Mouse, she’s adorable.

I want to thank Jennifer for this amazing opportunity to continue reading this wonderful story and world she has created.

Thank you for reading!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page